How I Knew

tumblr_lpapy10z6k1qmyimgo1_500

How I Knew

There was the way
I felt you moving inside me
From the beginning
And the way
I knew the heat
Of your touch
Against the suppleness
Of my skin
The exact weight
Of my body leaning into yours
As we stand on porches
Looking across plains
That reach with
Eternal fingers stretching
Everywhere prairies
Roam and roll
But never as far
As this beauty we share
In these perfect moments
Meant only for us

I know the
Way the smell
Of coffee mixes
With your kiss
On cold mornings
And the sound
The plate of bread
Makes as it hits
The table I happily
Prepare for you
The way newness
And knowledge open
And grow in you
Excited like a flame
That will not
Be extinguished

There was the way I knew
Where you were always meant to be
No magic or ritual
There is no ceremony for love
But the birthing & growing
Of the visions we see
Bringing blessings with us
Into the waking world
As well as the
Houses we build
In the places of spirit
Things put away
On the other side

© 2013 Melissa Fry Beasley, All Rights Reserved

**************************************************************

I Recall

the way your secret
brook swells like
oceans of
the skin as I kiss you here
there & everywhere

You are soft
streams rippling beneath
fingers that
have memorized the number
of breaths between us

The spaces
that separate and
divide us
Until we have figured out
the way together

© 2013 Melissa Fry Beasley, All Rights Reserved

One thought on “How I Knew

Leave a Reply

