Poem To My Grandmother

547035_154147321396244_1692006528_n
Mixed media collage, me

Piecing together life
Pain
Joy
Smiles
Into amazing squares
Of faith and strength
Catching laughter
Binding tears
Placing them just so
Feather stitching chaos into order
Into your hoop
Go dreams of the people
Memories of family
Nations quilted into glorious hugs and well wishes
Sent across miles
Or just around the corner
Wrapped tightly
Safely shielded from the elements
Harshness of the world
History woven into each block
Every blanket containing pieces of you
Your wisdom
Reminding us who we are
Where we came from
In one of your blankets I saw chickens in a coop
another contained startstuffs and Heaven
I’ve seen wedding rings
A trail across Kansas
Even the path of a drunkard
I saw the blanket of Chiefs and
One men wrap up in to see Holy things
There was even one made by your Grandmother so long ago
When she was still little
Love in each stitch
Prayer in every thread
So much magic in each creation of your beautiful hands
I found my Grandmother
Her Grandmothers
Blowing in the breeze
Soaking in the sun
As this blanket was just hanging there.

© Melissa Fry Beasley 2006

7 thoughts on “Poem To My Grandmother

    • Thanks Jonaid. When we truly love I believe it lasts for time and all eternity. 50 years isn’t long in comparison.(to eternity) I also believe we will be rejoined with those we love. So keep her memory strong and close to your heart until the time comes you will walk and talk with her again.

  1. i’ve got memories of my grandmother who passed 10 years ago; they are still warm, sometimes achy, but always beautiful. the following unearthed some more:

    “Every blanket containing pieces of you
    Your wisdom
    Reminding us who we are
    Where we came from…
    There was even one made by your Grandmother so long ago
    When she was still little
    Love in each stitch
    Prayer in every thread”

  2. Pingback: I Won A Contest! | Melissa Fry Beasley

Leave a comment